Committing To Life

Committing, Celebrating and Growing through Life

Plight of a Warrior woman

2 Comments

He said to me: “she is a year younger than you, has a son and no family. And yet, she is so much nicer than you.”

My question would’ve been: “If she is so strong and resilient why is she soaking your shoulder with tears and hanging her entire history on a ‘public-broadcast’ line. If I am so weak how come I haven’t choked through my tears and told you of days my mother couldn’t feed us, getting kicked out and seeing death as the most viable solution?”

And yet, as usual I contained the pain and realized my strength had failed me in a relationship, yet again; Not just my un-defeatable strength but my determination and the fact that I have never lost touch with how much my soul is worth – I am a gem.

What is the role of a woman in society, families, business and relationships if we have to assume a lesser position, a victim position a fragile demeanor, in order to be cherished?

I have always been compared to warriors: ‘you are the next Oprah, you should write a book, you’re an inspiration..’ Etc. For the first time in my life I was compared to a woman who was eager to paint the town walls with her struggles and lure a man into her heart by seeming like a damsel in distress.

I’m terribly sorry but I will never release my power in order to be adored. See, just like there are different coloured jelly beans in a packet, there are also different calibres of men and women in the world.

It pains my heart to see a woman downscale on who she is just to suit a man’s whims. We are human beings, actually human becomings, and so we are on a path of constant growth and rediscovery. That path has nothing to do with assuming a lesser position.

The plights of a strong woman are insanely difficult and I have seen it. A challenge to men is to man up and a challenge to women is to woman up. It has nothing to do with downscaling to suit a person’s whims.

Let’s have a great week 🙂

Stay committed.

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Author: Candice Mncwabe

Thinker, feeler, Writer and aspiring healer. I am a slave to comfort and bliss, and believe that our dreams are our soft pillows when the world is too harsh. I sleigh dragons in my sleep and fight battles when I am awake. I believe in the power that resides in every human being and that if we just empower and strengthen eachother - we can build powerful nations of phenomenal people. Life is Amazing. Let's commit to it. :)

2 thoughts on “Plight of a Warrior woman

  1. “..challenge to women is to woman up.” Fair enough but what is the definition of WOMAN.. For one it might be to humble herself and bow in the presence of a man, to the other it could be to stand tall and become a “man”..

    • The aim of the blog wasn’t really to define manhood or womanhood, but that’s a good point. I blogged about both in my previous blog side: http://candice-fenty.blogspot.com. , its not womanhood if its about being a man. We play different roles. I outlined them in 2posts there.

      I shouldn’t have to be a victim in order to be a woman. I have been through a lot yes, but its not important right now. Its built me but I don’t have to cry on any man’s shoulder about it. The time will come for that.

Leave a Reply

